Our committee

The International Wound Infection Institute is administered by our executive committee and secretariat

The Institute has a formal management structure comprising an elected executive committee members, who uphold the aim and objectives of the Institute in a volunteer capacity

Professor Karen Ousey

Karen is chair of IWII and Professor and Director for the Institute of Skin Integrity and Infection Prevention at the University of Huddersfield, UK, Visiting Professor at Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane, Australia and Academic editor of Wounds UK. She has published over 100 papers, authored book chapters and text books. View Karen’s full profile

Terry Swanson

Terry Swanson was admitted as a Fellow of AWMA in 2010 for her significant contribution to wound management at a state, national and international level. She is the current Vice Chair of the International Wound Infection Institute and chaired the development and publication of the 2016 IWII Consensus Document Update on Wound Infection.


Dr Gregory Schultz

Dr. Gregory Schultz is Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology and Director of the Institute for Wound Research at the University of Florida. 

Dr.Schultz has authored 400 scientific publications that have been cited over 17,000 times. He isthe Principal Investigator or Coinvestigator on grant totaling over $35 million, and is an inventor on over 30 patents in the area of wound healing. 

Professor Paul Chadwick

Paul has recently commenced in a new role as the National Clinical Director for the College of Podiatry. His remit is to develop and implement the Clinical Leadership and Education agendas of the Organisation’s five-year strategic plan. In his short time at the College he has led the development of the Diabetes Commissioning Tool Kit.

Paul qualified in 1990 and gained an MSC (by research) in 2000. He completed a PhD in 2012 looking at the social construction of neuropathic pain.

Donna Angel

Donna Angel is a Nurse Practitioner in Wound Management at Royal Perth Hospital, Perth Western Australia. She has held this position since 2006.

She graduated from Edith Cowan University in 1993 with a Bachelor of Nursing. She then went on to Curtin University and graduated with a Post Gradate Diploma, Clinical Nurse Specialisation (Nurse Practitioner) in 2005, she subsequently completed her Masters of Science (Nursing) in 2010 also from Curtin University.

Professor Val Edwards-Jones

Val is Emeritus Professor of Medical Microbiology at Manchester Metropolitan University, Visiting Professor of the Institute of Skin Integrity and Infection Prevention, Huddersfield University , Clinical Director at MelBec Microbiology Ltd, Lancashire; an independent microbiology company and Technical Director of Microsan Ltd, a company producing natural cleaning products using essential oils. A forty five year career in Microbiology, she has twenty years in the NHS and twenty one as an academic researcher.

Evan Call

Evan Call is Adjunct Faculty in the Microbiology Department at Weber State University in Ogden Utah and a research scientist working in support surfaces, medical devices and performance/ regulatory testing.  Evan is nearing completion of his 4th term on the Board of Directors of NPUAP where he has served as Chair or Co-Chair of the Research Committee, and Co-Chair of the Support Surfaces Standards Committee.

Dr Keryln Carville

Keryln is the current Chair IWII Evidence Committee and participated in the

development of the Infection Consensus Document in 2008 and 2016. She was appointed a Fellow of the Australian Wound Management Association (now Wounds Australia) in 2006 and awarded Life Membership of the Australian Association of Stomal Therapy

Nurses in 2015 for professional contributions to these clinical domains.

Dr Lindsay Kalan

Dr. Lindsay Kalan is an Assistant Professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in the
School of Medicine and Public Health. She obtained her PhD in Biochemistry from McMaster University where she the studied evolution of antibiotic resistance in the environment and clinic.

Dr Nicola Waters

Dr. Nicola Waters is a Registered Nurse with wound-related experience in clinical practice, education, industry and research. Nicola is an Associate Professor in the School of Nursing at Thompson Rivers University, Kamloops, BC. She completed a Masters in Science in Wound Healing and Tissue Repair at Cardiff University and is currently an honorary tutor in the MSc. program. Nicola holds a PhD from the University of Calgary.

Dr David keast

David is a Fellow of the College of Family Physicians of Canada.   He is currently Medical Director of the Outpatient Chronic Wound Management Clinic at the Parkwood Institute, London, Clinical Adjunct Professor of Family Medicine, Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry, Western University and Associate Scientist in the Parkwood Research Institute, part of the Lawson Health Research Institute.  David is a founding board member and Past President of the Canadian Association of Wound Care (now Wounds Canada), founding co-chair of the Canadian Lymphedema Framework and one of the founding members of the World Alliance for Wound and Lymphedema Care.

Emily Haesler

Emily is Adjunct Associate Professor with the Wound Management and Healing (WHAM) Node located at Curtin University, Australia. She works on wound-related research, evidence reviews and educational material for healthcare professionals, including those in in low resource countries. Emily also has extensive experience as a research methodologist in Australia and internationally. 

Dot WEir

Dot has been a registered nurse for 42 years; 38 of those dedicated to the practice of wound andostomy care. She has practiced in acute care, home care and long term care, spent 7 years in industry,and has practiced in outpatient care since 2001. She has been Board Certified by the Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Certification Board since 1985 (CWON) and The American Board of Wound Management since 2004 (CWS).